Organization of Department of Electrical and Photonics Engineering

Head of Department

Deputy Head of Department

Peter Uhd Jepsen

Peter Uhd Jepsen Professor, Group Leader, Deputy Head of Department Phone: +45 45255711

Head of Administration

Head of Innovation

Research sections

Department of Electrical and Photonics Engineering has 21 research group within 5 research sections. Below you will find our sections, groups and group leaders.

Communications Technologies

  • Network Technologies & Service Platforms: Professor Lars Dittmann
  • High-speed Optical Communications: Professor Leif Katsuo Oxenløwe
  • Coding & Visual Communication: Professor Søren Forchhammer
  • Machine Learning in Photonic Systems: Professor Darko Zibar

Electro Technology

  • Acoustic Technology: Associate professor Finn Agerkvist
  • Automation and Control: Professor Lazaros Nalpantidis
  • Electronics: Professor Michael A. E. Andersen

Light Sources & Industrial Sensors

  • Diode Lasers & LED Systems: Professor Paul Michael Petersen
  • Optical Sensor Technology: Professor Christian Pedersen
  • Photovoltaic Materials & Systems: Senior researcher Stela Canulescu
  • Wide Bandgap Semiconductor Photonics: Associate professor Haiyan Ou


  • Quantum and Laser Photonics: Professor Jesper Mørk
  • Nanophotonic Devices: Professor Kresten Yvind
  • Plasmonics & Metamaterials: Associate professor Andrei Laurynenka
  • Structured Electromagnetic Materials: Associate professor Martijn Wubs
  • Quantum Light Sources: Professor Niels Gregersen
  • Photonic Nanotechnology: Associate professor Søren Stobbe

Nonlinear Optics & Biophotonics

  • Ultrafast Infrared and Terahertz Science: Professor Peter Uhd Jepsen
  • Fiber Optics, Devices and Nonlinear Effects: Professor Karsten Rottwitt
  • Fiber Sensors & Supercontinuum: Professor Ole Bang
  • Neural Devices & Gas Photonics: Associate professor Christos Markos